Pirelli announces tyre choices first eight Grands Prix

Published on 11 June 2020 by Kees-Jan Koster

Pirelli, Formula 1’s sole tyre supplier, have announced the selection of tyres the teams have made for the first eight Grands Prix this summer. While normally Pirelli only announces the tyre choices for the next few races, this time the announcement is for all the currently planned races.

With this all the tyre choices for both Grand Prix in Austria, Hungary, both races in England, Spain, Belgium and Italy are announced. The two races in Austria and England respectively will be called Grosser Preis der Steiermark and 70th Anniversary Grand Prix.

The teams can select for their drivers thirteen sets from the by Pirelli preselected tyre compounds. As previously, Pirelli selected for each circuit three of the in total five available tyre compounds.

For both races in Austria and the race in Hungary, the teams can choose the middle three compounds, C2, C3 and C4. For both Grand Prix at Silverstone the selection differs: for the British Grand Prix the C1, C2 and C3 are ready, while for the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix a week later the compounds C2, C3 and C4 are available.

Finally, for the race in Barcelona the C1, C2 and C3, in Spa-Franchorchamps and Monza are the C2, C3 and C4 available.

Tyre choces Pirelli European F1 races: