Max comfortably fastest in Silverstone FP1

Published on 16 July 2021 by Stefan Meens

Max Verstappen clocked the fastest lap in the opening practice session of the British Grand Prix at Silverstone. Lando Norris, McLaren, was second, almost eight tenths adrift. Lewis Hamilton completed the top three in his Mercedes.

For the first time in Formula 1 history, a sprint race will determine the starting grid for Sunday’s Grand Prix. The inclusion of the sprint has resulted in a different schedule for the weekend, with just one practice session on Friday, followed by qualifying, which will produce the grid for the sprint race on Saturday. In addition, a second free practice session will be held Saturday afternoon.

Because of the limited practice opportunities, it is busy on track when FP1 gets underway. Max completes his first run on the hard Pirelli compound, before switching to the mediums. On the latter, the Dutchman sets the pace in the first half of the session.

With twenty minutes left on the clock, both Red Bulls opt to switch to the soft compound. With three purple sectors, Max makes the most of the extra grip and cements his position at the top of the leader boards.

In the closing stages, only a handful of drivers circulate the Silverstone circuit. Among them are Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton. Both Mercedes have now switched to the soft tyres as well. Despite improving on their earlier lap times, the black arrows are unable to threaten Max’ efforts, meaning the Dutchman finishes FP1 in first place.

Contest British GP: win a signed Max Verstappen Orange Driver Cap 2021!

Results first free practice Great Britain:

1Max VerstappenVERRed Bull Racing Honda1:27.035 22
2Lando NorrisNORMcLaren Mercedes1:27.814+0.779s25
3Lewis HamiltonHAMMercedes1:27.815+0.780s29
4Charles LeclercLECFerrari1:27.828+0.793s25
5Valtteri BottasBOTMercedes1:27.897+0.862s29
6Carlos SainzSAIFerrari1:27.923+0.888s24
7Sebastian VettelVETAston Martin Mercedes1:28.062+1.027s22
8Sergio PerezPERRed Bull Racing Honda1:28.163+1.128s24
9Daniel RicciardoRICMcLaren Mercedes1:28.211+1.176s27
10Esteban OconOCOAlpine Renault1:28.415+1.380s23
11Pierre GaslyGASAlphaTauri Honda1:28.449+1.414s27
12Yuki TsunodaTSUAlphaTauri Honda1:28.600+1.565s28
13Antonio GiovinazziGIOAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:28.827+1.792s25
14Fernando AlonsoALOAlpine Renault1:28.873+1.838s23
15Kimi RäikkönenRAIAlfa Romeo Racing Ferrari1:29.220+2.185s26
16Nicholas LatifiLATWilliams Mercedes1:29.227+2.192s26
17Mick SchumacherMSCHaas Ferrari1:29.227+2.192s23
18Lance StrollSTRAston Martin Mercedes1:29.597+2.562s20
19Nikita MazepinMAZHaas Ferrari1:29.808+2.773s22
20George RussellRUSWilliams Mercedes1:29.857+2.822s28